Stages of Education – Confused!

Please Help. The Stages of education are markedly differently, probably based on different curriculums. Nursery/Pre-school>Kg1/Kg2>Fs1>Fs2 etc.

Please help me to understand what comes first and at what age and refers to which curriculum?

tanushri Default Asked on February 5, 2015 in Admissions.
Add Comment
1 Answer(s)

Dear Tanushri,

Yes it is confusing – but here is a rough guide:

Nursery/Pre-School – usually up to the age of approx 4 except in the UK curriculum where children start school at the age of 3. Almost all International curricula start with either pre-KG, KG or KG1 and KG2 and then go from grade 1 to grade 12. UK curriculum classes start with FS1, followed by FS2 and then years 1- 13.

pre-KG (international curricula) = FS1 (UK curriculum – age 3+ on 1st September)
KG1 (international curricula) = FS2 (age 3 years and 9 months on 1st September – except in UK curriculum schools where children will already have reached the age of 4)
KG2 = Year 1
Grade 1 = Year 2 etc until Grade 12 = Year 13 in the UK curriculum.

Hope this helps.

Default Answered on May 2, 2015.
Add Comment

Your Answer

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.